Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained - beabuddhist.net

Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained

Eightfold Path in Buddhism

Buddhism teaches an eightfold guide to cease all suffering in life and attaining Nirvana. This eightfold path is attainable through rightness of
belief, resolve, speech, action, livelihood, effort, thought, and meditation.

1. Right View (Samma Ditthi)

Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained

There should be the development of wisdom so that you can understand the true meaning of life, see the right view, acknowledge the right perspective, and ultimately, cease the sufferings. And all such things are the result of knowledge and use of the Four Noble Truths.

2. Right Intention (Samma Sankappa)

The right world view and an improved perspective will lead you towards the development of the right thoughts and pure intentions. For practicing the right intent, Buddha said to focus on renunciation, loving and kindness, compassion, and non-violence.

Eightfold Path in Buddhism
Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained

3. Right Speech (Samma Vaca)

Mostly, you speak what you think. Humans should avoid false speech, use of bad and harsh words, abusive language, and frivolous chatter. Buddhism encourages speaking the truth in a sweet and gentle manner.

4. Right Conduct (Samma Kammanta)

There should be harmony between your thoughts, speech, and action. Buddha taught that human beings should avoid killing, stealing, and other fraudulent practices. Your behavior should be loving, peaceful, empathetic, and harmonious.

Eightfold Path in Buddhism
Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained

5. Right Livelihood (Samma Ajiva)

Your lifestyle should be positive, disciplined, and free from any violence. So, it is better to avoid such jobs or things that result in the sufferings of others. One should not be engaged in activities and professions that cause harm to living beings.

6. Right Efforts (Samma Vayama)

Right efforts mean engaging yourself in such activities or practices that remove any ill thought in your mind and fill it with positivity. Humans should cultivate good habits and train the mind in a way that makes the earth a better and peaceful place to live.

7. Right Mindfulness (Samma Sati)

Eightfold Path Of Buddhism: Explained

The right mindfulness is control over negative emotions like anger, hurt, pain, etc. Constant monitoring of your thoughts, actions, feelings, and emotions can help you attain a stage of mental stability. Mindfulness is just not about the mental state or imagination; it’s all about the developing harmonious relationship between your mind and body.

8. Right Concentration (Samma Samadhi)

For attaining a higher level of well-being, you must be engaged in mediation. This is the root of all concentration. Once you are well aware of the above seven paths, you will be ready to achieve this last one. It is the stage of enlightenment and salvation.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter